Columbus, GA...Pfeiffer University fired the day's best round here Wednesday, leap-frogging to the top and winning the Atlantic portion of the NCAA Atlantic/Southeast Super Regional at Bull Creek. USC Aiken, the defending national champions, led from wire-to-wire at the event to win the Southeast portion of the tournament. Host Columbus State slipped in as a qualifier for the national championship tournament along with fellow Peach Belt Conference and Southeast Region opponents Armstrong Atlantic State and Georgia College & State University. Greg Dobbins of UNC Pembroke will play in Savannah as an individual.

Belmont Abbey, the Atlantic Region leader in the first two rounds, faltered on Wednesday, turning in a team total of 315 to finish at 922. Barton made a move on Tuesday, but fell to 311 as a team on Wednesday to finish third, tied with Coker College. Queens, Anderson, St. Andrews, and Fayetteville State rounded out the field on the Atlantic side.

David Harris of Pfeiffer claimed medalist honors, firing rounds of 72-76-75 to finish at 223 (+7). Five golfers tied for second place at +13. Ian Kenwright of Pfeiffer turned in the tourney's best round, firing a final-round 69 which included a 31 on his final nine holes. He finished as one of the quintet in second place.

On the Southeast side, USC Aiken continued its consistent play, shooting a final-round 297 to win by four shots over Armstrong Atlantic State. The Pirates shot a final-round 299, while GC & SU turned in a 302 and Columbus State a 305. Francis Marion finished fight after a 308, while Presbyterian, North Greenville, and UNC Pembroke rounded out the eight-team field.

Scott Brown of USC Aiken birdied the final hole, while mate Dane Burkhart bogeyed the same hole for a two-shot swing to claim medalist honors. Brown's three-day total was the best in the event at even-par 216, while Burkhart finished at 217. Jonathan Cox of AASU was third at 220, while Chris Epperson of AASU and Christian Ries of Columbus State tied for fourth at 221. Dobbins finished sixth and Omar Sanchez of CSU seventh.

The NCAA Division II National Championship Tournament will take place on May 17-20 in Savannah, GA, at the Club at Savannah Harbor.