Anderson, SC- The Coker Cross Country Teams competed in the CVAC Cross Country Championships today in Anderson, SC. The Cobra men finished 5th as a team out of 10 teams in the 8K event, while the women placed 11th out of 12 teams in the 5K race.


In the Women’s race, the Coker women completed the race in 11th place out of 12 teams. The leading runner for the women was freshman Shannon Townley/Anniston, AL, with a time of 23:24; she was followed by sophomore Noelle Sharbono/Pembroke Pines, FL, with a time of 23:49. Next for the Cobra women were senior Rnesha Baldwin/Bolingbrook, IL, coming in at 24:47, and sophomore Elizabeth Cox/N. Myrtle Beach, SC, finished at 29:24. Finishing out the field for the Cobra women was Jennifer Graham with a time of 33:03.


Unfortunately for the women they did not qualify for regional competition.


David Green and Nathan Hansen were named to CVAC All-Conference Teams. Green made First Team All-Conference, while Hansen was selected for the All-Conference honorable mention team. St. Andrews won the Men’s title and Anderson College won the women’s title, while Lewis Martin of Lees-McRae was named men’s runner of the year and Jennifer Hitt of Anderson was named women’s runner of the year.