MILLEDGEVILLE, Ga. – Carson-Newman College’s Zoe Heim was named Daktronics All-South Atlantic Region Pitcher of the Year and Lincoln Memorial University’s Sara Henn took player of the year honors, as the all-region teams were released today (May 7). The teams were nominated and voted upon by the region’s sports information directors.

Heim, playing in the South Atlantic Conference (SAC), was 30-5 this season with a 1.01 ERA and 276 strikeouts for the Eagles, the top-ranked team in the region. She held opponents to just a .186 batting average and tossed seven shutouts on the year.

Henn, also a SAC competitor, hit .487 with 13 home runs and 57 RBI at third base for the Railsplitters this year. Her batting average ranks ninth in the nation, her round-trippers 20th and her slugging percentage of .882 places 10th.

Joining Henn and Heim on the all-region first team were Heim’s teammates Whitney Hickam at second base and Jesse Howard at shortstop.
No. 2 region seed and South Atlantic Region Tournament host UNC Pembroke landed two on the first team, pitcher Martika Elmore and outfielder Brittany Berrier.

Also getting two on the first team was region No. 4 seed Georgia College & State University with pitcher Mandy Chandler and outfielder Sherquita Bostick. Also competing at this year’s region tournament is utility player Courtney McGuire from North Georgia College & State University. Rounding out the first team are: catcher Jessica Strickland from USC Aiken, first baseman Kimberly Atkinson from Coker College, outfielder Natalie Haithcox from Mars Hill College and designated player Jenny Jackson from Mount Olive College.

Carson-Newman placed the most on both teams combined with four total, sharing that honor with region No. 3-seed Lenoir-Rhyne College, landing four members on the second team. Behind the two leaders, both Georgia College and Mars Hill picked up three honorees.

The first team selections will go on to the Daktronics All-American Ballot, with the All-American announcement due May 16.

A full list of the first and second teams is below.

Zoe Heim, Carson-Newman
Sara Henn, Lincoln Memorial

C- Jessica Strickland, USC Aiken
1B- Kimberly Atkinson, Coker
2B- Whitney Hickam, Carson-Newman
3B- Sara Henn, Lincoln Memorial
SS- Jesse Howard, Carson-Newman
OF- Sherquita Bostick, Georgia College
OF- Brittany Berrier, UNC Pembroke
OF- Natalie Haithcox, Mars Hill
DP- Jenny Jackson, Mount Olive
UT- Courtney McGuire, North Georgia
P- Zoe Heim, Carson-Newman
P- Mandy Chandler, Georgia College
P- Martika Elmore, UNC Pembroke

C- Kristina Osborn, Mars Hill
1B- Ashley Seawell, Mars Hill
2B- Laura Voyles, North Georgia
3B- Mandy Stevens, Carson-Newman
SS- Kat Rivers, Lenoir-Rhyne
OF- Taylor Queen, Lenoir-Rhyne
OF- Brittany Cherry, Lenoir-Rhyne
OF- Martina Bullard, Pfeiffer
DP- none
UT- Tonya Medders, Georgia College
P- Shelly Catlett, Coker
P- Meredith O’Connor, Lenoir-Rhyne
P- Brittany Blankenship, Wingate