Spartanburg, SC - On a picture perfect day for running, Jennifer Hitt for Anderson University won her fourth consecutive Conference Carolina Championship.  Even though Anderson University placed three runners in the top ten, it was Lees - McRae College who won their first Women's Cross Country Championship since 2004.

Lees-McRae was led by sophomore first team All-Conference runner Dana Lindholm.  She was joined in the top ten by Carla Swart, who placed 7th overall.  The Bobcats finished with a team score of 51 points and had six runners finish in the top 20.  The two-time defending champions of Anderson University finished in second place, 27 points behind the Bobcats.   

The Flacons of Pfeiffer University claimed the third place finish with a total of 125 points.  Second team All-Conference Melissa Dunlap who finished 6th overall in today's race led Pfeiffer University.  Converse College, with 131 points, finished in fourth place which was 4 points ahead of St. Andrews who rounded out the top five.

Limestone finished in sixth place with 141 points while Queens University claimed seventh with 151 points.  Coker College finished eighth overall, while Erskine, Belmont Abbey, Barton, and Mount Olive rounded out the 12-team field.

2007 Conference Carolinas Women's Cross Country All-Conference Awards

First Team

Jennifer Hitt - Anderson

Diana Willard - Anderson

Alyson Trovato - St. Andrews

Dana Lindholm - Lees-McRae

Alex Bonn - Limestone

Second Team

Melissa Dunlap - Pfeiffer

Carla Swart - Lees-McRae

Carrie Powell - Converse College

Ashley McClellion - Anderson

Kendyle Seawright - Coker

Honorable Mention

April Harris - Lees-McRae

Molly Reichwald - Limestone

Whitney Dennis - Queens

Ashley May - Lees-McRae

Demarea Colson - Lees-McRae

Freshman of the Year

Ashley McClellion - Anderson

Coach of the Year

Craig McPhail - Lees-McRae

Runner of the Year

Jennifer Hitt - Anderson

  Women's Team Results

1. Lees-McRae
2. Anderson
3. Pfeiffer
4. Converse
5. St. Andrews
6. Limestone
7. Queens
8. Coker
9. Erskine
10. Belmont Abbey
11. Barton
12. Mount Olive


2007 Women's Cross Country Results