HIGH POINT, N.C. – A trio of Coker College men’s soccer players have been named to the 2010 Conference Carolinas All-Conference Teams. Rommel Fondin (Palm Bay, Fla.) and Marc Mergena (Port-au-Prince, Haiti) were both Second Team All-Conference selections, while Daniel Shirzad (Orlando, Fla.) was a Third Team All-Conference selection.
Fondin was selected as a midfielder, to date he has scored four goals with two assists for a total of 10 points in 16 matches, placing him in a tie for most points on the team.

Mergena was selected as a defender. He is the anchor of a Cobra defense that has allowed just 22 goals in 16 matches, an average of only 1.44 goals per game.

Shirzad, a forward selection, is tied with Fondin for most points on the team with  10, but he is the sole leader in goals with five in 15 matches.

Conference Carolinas announces the All-Conference teams during this week’s Conference Carolinas Championship Soccer Tournament.  Head Coaches from conference member institutions nominate and then vote upon the award winners who represent the best of the best for the conference.

The Cobras will take on the #2 seed Erskine College on Friday in the semifinals of the Conference Carolinas Tournament. Kick-off is scheduled for 7:00 p.m. at Erskine.

Men’s All-Conference 1st-Team
Lee Squires, Lees-McRae - Forward
David Palmer, Lees-McRae - Forward
Matt Sluga, Erskine - Forward
Jack Bailey, Limestone - Forward
Keegan Ziada, Limestone - Midfielder
Luke Perry, Lees-McRae - Midfielder
Erik Pajunk, Barton - Midfielder
Alex Connally, Erskine - Defender
Luke Duffy, Lees-McRae - Defender
Aaron Weldon , Belmont Abbey - Defender
Roberto De La Vina, Erskine - Goalkeeper

Men’s All-Conference 2nd-Team
Junior Ellis, Limestone - Forward
Matt Dolan, Belmont Abbey - Forward
James Galvani, Lees-McRae - Forward
Jack Kimber, Erskine - Midfielder
Lee Smyth, Limestone - Midfielder
Rommel Fondin, Coker - Midfielder
Luke Staats, Lees-McRae - Defender
Marc Mergena, Coker - Defender
Sam Kennedy Lees-McRae - Defender
Mike Stephenson, Limestone - Defender
Alex Moreno Pfeiffer - Goalkeeper

Men’s All-Conference 3rd-Team
Daniel Shirzad, Coker - Forward
Jeremy Chambers, Queens - Forward
Jose Penaloza, Belmont Abbey - Forward
Stuart Kirk, Belmont Abbey - Midfielder
Gersi Cilingiri, Queens - Midfielder
Gianluca D'Agata, Belmont Abbey - Midfielder
Tom Morris, Limestone - Midfielder
Luke Vernon, Pfeiffer - Defender
Justin Ferguson, Queens - Defender
Jonathan Rutter, Erskine - Defender
Louis Liberatore, Belmont Abbey - Goalkeeper

Freshman of the Year
Erik Pajunk, Barton

Player of the Year
Lee Squires, Lees-McRae

Coach of the Year
Warren Turner, Erskine

Regular Season Champions