Hartsville, SC- With the completion of the first day of competition at the Carolinas-Virginia Athletics Golf Championships, the Pfeiffer University Women are in the lead along with the Coker College Men.


Pfeiffer is leading after 18 holes with a combined score of 316 and is followed by Anderson University and Mount Olive, each with 345. Britany Beltran of Pfeiffer is the overall leader, firing a first round 77. Fellow Falcons Charlene Reid and Andrea Grier are tied for second after shooting 79.


On the men’s side of the course, Coker took a three shot lead after the completion of the 27 holes. The Cobras shot a combined 429 and are closely followed by Pfeiffer University with a 432, Belmont Abbey with a 435 and Limestone a 436.


Limestone’s Paul Butler is the overall leader, after a superb 18 hole 66 and a nine hole 35, he is seven under. Dion Sirianni of Lees-McRae is only a shot back of Butler with a combined 102 for the day.


The 2006 CVAC Golf Championships continue tomorrow, with the men playing 27 holes and the women playing 18 at the Hartsville Country Club. Teams tee off starting at 8:30 a.m.


Following the first day of play the CVAC held its annual Golf Awards Banquet, at which the following awards were given.


Women’s Golf Award Winners:

Player of the Year: Liz Cortez – Belmont Abbey; Freshman of the Year: Liz Cortez – Belmont Abbey; Coach of the Year: Laura Covington – Queens; All-CVAC First Team: Liz Cortez – Belmont Abbey, Brittany Beltran – Pfeiffer, Alessandra Maurtua – St. Andrews, Lindsey Snyder – Mount Olive, Charlene Reid – Pfeiffer; All-CVAC Second Team: Holly Tomkins – Limestone, Katie Clayton – Limestone, Andrea Grier – Pfeiffer, Erin May – Anderson, Carlie Eastman – Anderson; All-CVAC Honorable Mention: Martha Autry – Queens, Nikki Taggart – Pfeiffer, Kate Somek – Mount Olive, Jennifer Odle – Anderson, Hilary Armel – Queens.


Men’s Golf Award Winners:

Player of the Year: Ian Kentwright – Pfeiffer; Freshman of the Year: Adam Sheriff – Anderson; Coach of the Year: Doug Ehmann – Belmont Abbey; All-CVAC First Team: Dion Siriannia – Lees-McRae, Vincent Dumouchel – Coker, Kasey Timms – Belmont Abbey, Ian Kentwright – Pfeiffer, Adam Sheriff – Anderson; All-CVAC Second Team: Mick Moberg – Mount Olive, Eric Forsman – Pfeiffer, David Harris – Pfeiffer, Johary Raveloarison – Coker, Kent Cherry – Belmont Abbey; All-CVAC Honorable Mention: Paul Butler – Limestone, Ian Hall – Queens, Nick Nosewicz – Barton, Matt Short – Lees-McRae, Alvin Yeung – St. Andrews.


Women’s Round One Results;


Fin.   Top 20 Teams             Scores 

         1   Pfeiffer University          316           

         2   Anderson College SC      345           

             Mount Olive College        345           

         4   Queens Univ of Charl     350            

         5   Belmont Abbey Coll.      355           

         6   Limestone College          361           


Men’s Day One Results


1        Coker                               429

2        Pfeiffer                            432

3        Belmont Abbey                  435

4        Limestone                        436

5        Barton                              441

6        Queens                             447

7        St. Andrews                     449

8        Mt. Olive                         456

9        Anderson                         464

10      Lees-McRae                     470