Florence, Ala. - At approximately 10:00 a.m. Monday morning, the Coker College Golf Team will tee off in the first of three rounds at the 2009 Southeast Regional Golf Tournament at the Robert Trent Jones of the Shoals Fighting Joe Course in Florence, Alabama. Coker is looking to make their way back to the NCAA Division II National Championship for the first time since 2006.

The Cobras are part the 20-team Super Regional comprised of teams from the Southeast and South Regional tournaments, hosted by the University of North Alabama. Last year Coker finished just short of a National Championship bid, placing fifth in the regional tournament.

A total of eighty teams and 32 individuals were selected to participate in the four super regionals, in which two regions will meet and conduct regional tournaments. The regional tournaments will be paired as follows:

Atlantic and East, South and Southeast, Midwest and South Central and Central and West

The top five teams and the top two individuals not with a team from each regional (regardless of region) will advance to the finals The finals will be hosted by Western Washington University.

Coker is competing in what is considered the toughest region in the nation. A team from either the South or Southeast Region has won the last 15 straight Division II championships and 24 of the last 25.

The Cobras are fresh off a second place finish in the 2009 Conference Carolinas Tournament and have only placed below fifth in one of 10 tournaments this entire year.

Fans can follow all the regional action live via the internet with Golfstat Live Scoring, simply visit www.golfstat.com and click on the Southeast/South Regional.

Teams competing in each regional are as follows:

Southeast Region:
1. Columbus State
2. GC&SU
3. Clayton State [Peach Belt Conference]
4. South Carolina-Aiken
5. Lander
6. Coker
7. Barton [Conference Carolinas]
8. Newberry [South Atlantic Conference]
9. Belmont Abbey
10. Armstrong Atlantic

1. Jordan Walor, North Carolina-Pembroke 2. Chase Carroll, Tusculum 3. Scott Woodard, Mount Olive 4. Adam Sheriff, Anderson (South Carolina)

South Region:
1. Nova Southeastern [Sunshine State Conference]
2. Florida Southern
3. Lynn
4. Barry
5. North Alabama [Gulf South Conference]
6. West Florida
7. Valdosta State
8. Arkansas Tech
9. Rollins
10. Florida Tech

1. Cole Cisbani, St. Leo 2. Brandon Hartzell, Delta State 3. Ryan Chitwood, West Georgia 4. Mark McGuire, St. Leo