HIGH POINT, N.C. – Coker sophomore men’s golfer Jake Murphy (Hamilton, N.J.) has been named to the 2011 Conference Carolinas Men’s Golf First Team All-Conference Team.

Murphy has been the Cobras leading golfer during the 2010-11 season with a stroke average of just over 72. He has led the Cobras to five Top 10 finishes, including two tournament championships. Individually, Murphy has captured four Top 10 finishes including winning medalist honors at two tournaments and a second place finish at the Division II Golfweek Invitational.

The Conference Carolinas All-Conference Teams were determined by vote from each Head Coach of participating league institutions.  Nominations were collected and then voted upon by ballot and tallied to determine Player of the Year, Freshman of the Year, Coach of the Year, All-Conference First Team, All-Conference Second Team and All-Conference Third Team.  Awards were presented at the league golf team banquet at the Conference Tournament Championships co-hosted by Belmont Abbey College and the Woodlake Resort and Golf in Vass, N.C. 

Player of the Year:
Daniel Claytor, Barton

Freshman of the Year:
Dermot McElhennon, Barton

Coach of the Year:
John Hackney, Barton

All-Conference First Team:
Jake Murphy, Coker
Daniel Claytor, Barton
Peter Tarver Jones, Belmont Abbey
Craig Deberg, Queens
Michael Marshburn, Barton

All-Conference Second Team:
Daniel Castleberry, Barton
Adam Hedges, Belmont Abbey
Scott Woodard, Mount Olive
Dermot McElhennon, Barton
Ryan Sevigny, Queens

All-Conference Third Team:
Ben Ross, Limestone
John Frisby, Belmont Abbey
Matthew Latham, St. Andrews
Luiz Jacintho, Pfeiffer
Tyson Louth, Pfeiffer