Cobras Capture Men's Soccer Tournament Championship

Cobras Capture Men's Soccer Tournament Championship

HARTSVILLE, S.C. – The Coker Cobras are the Conference Carolinas Men's Soccer Tournament Champions! The nationally ranked No. 5 Cobras defeated the Bobcats of Lees-McRae 1-0 in the tournament final on Sunday afternoon. 

Noah Lascell (Myrtle Beach, S.C.) put home the game-winner with an assist from Niko Tirkkonen (Hollola, Finland) just a minute into the second half with a blast from just over the midfield line.

It was a tightly contested, physical game from start to finish with 32 total fouls called between both teams in the match. Coker held the advantage on shots 13-6 and both goalkeepers had four or more saves.

James Sweeney (Huntingtown, Md.) earned his 10th shutout of the season with four saves for the Cobras, while Thomas Rusling had five saves in the net for the Bobcats.

Both Coker and Lees-McRae will now wait to see when and where they will play the NCAA regional tournament. The Cobras are currently ranked No. 1 in the NCAA Southeast Region poll, while the Bobcats are No. 6. The top six teams advance to the tournament that will begin on Wednesday, Nov. 9 with the opening round. The top two seeds will receive a bye until the first round starting Friday, Nov. 11.

Fans can watch the NCAA selection show live online on Monday, Nov. 7 at 7 p.m. on 

Conference Carolinas All-Tournament Team

Tom McReady- Limestone College

Roberto De La Vina- Erskine College

James Smith- Lees-McRae College

Scott Hudgins- Lees-McRae College

Luke Duffy- Lees-McRae College

Alan Cuevas- Coker College

Brendan McCarron – Coker College

Niko Tirkkonen- Coker College

Tyler Staub- Coker College

MVP- Noah Lascell- Coker College

Tournament Champions- Coker College