Cobras Defeat St. Andrews 25-13 in Inaugural Home Match

Cobras Defeat St. Andrews 25-13 in Inaugural Home Match

HARTSVILLE, S.C. – In front of a capacity crowd, the Coker Cobra wrestling team took down the St. Andrews Knights 25-13 in their inaugural home match on Monday (Nov. 25) night. The win moves the Cobras to 2-0 on the year.

The Cobras began the match with a 5-2 win by Austin Akins at the 285-pound division. Gavin Perkins followed with a pin of St. Andrews’ Josh Greene at the 125-pound division. Coker then took a commanding 12-0 lead when Charlie Huff picked up an 8-1 decision at the 133-pound division.

Rashad Cunningham earned the biggest win differential of the match with a 12-2 major decision victory at the 141-pound division. Kevin Thompson’ s 6-2 win at 149-pound division gave the Cobras a 19-0 lead. JD Dykes pushed the lead to 22-0 when he pulled out a 9-6 win at the 157-pound division.

The Knights got on the board with a trio of victories at the 165-pound, 174-pound and 184-pound divisions, making it a 22-13 match.

In the final match of the evening Robert Parland defeated Carlos Martinez, 6-5, at the 197-pound division, giving the Cobras the 25-13 victory.

After taking a break for the Thanksgiving holiday, the Cobras will take the mat again on Saturday (Dec. 7) at the Newberry College Duals.

Coker- 25, St. Andrews- 13


Gavin Perkins (Coker College) won by pin over Josh Greene (St. Andrews University) 4:11.


Charlie Huff (Coker College) won by decision over Tyran Taylor (St. Andrews University) 8-1.


Rashad Cunningham (Coker College) won by major decision over Dashon Eure (St. Andrews University) 12-2.


Kevin Thompson II (Coker College) won by decision over Kody Getkin (St. Andrews University) 6-2.


Johnathan Dykes (Coker College) won by decision over Brandon Eldridge (St. Andrews University) 9-6.


Jemson Villard (St. Andrews University) won by decision over Ellison Sanders (Coker College) 10-4.


Denzel Leggett (St. Andrews University) won by pin over Philip Burrows (Coker College) 2:29.


Janicento Williamson (St. Andrews University) won by major decision over Jacob Ralph (Coker College) 15-3.


Robert Parland (Coker College) won by decision over Carlos Martinez (St. Andrews University) 6-5.


Austin Akins (Coker College) won by decision over Denzel Vaughan (St. Andrews University) 5-2.