Cobras Battle, Fall to Braves 24-17

Cobras Battle, Fall to Braves 24-17

HARTSVILLE, S.C. - The Coker College wrestling team opened up their 2018-19 home dual meet schedule against the UNC Pembroke (UNCP) Braves Tuesday (Nov. 27) night in the DeLoach Center. The Cobras battled, but eventually fell to the Braves 24-17. Alex Miller (141 Pounds), Bret Shurina (165 Pounds), Taylor Catoe (174 Pounds), and Ramon Correa (285 Pounds) all collected victories for the Navy and Gold.

The dual began at 125 pounds, where Coker's John Watts wrestled tough, but fell to returning All-American Nick Daggett by an 11-5 decision. After dropping the 133 pound weight class, the Navy and Gold collected their first victory with an electrifying 17-6 decision from Miller. Coker's Miller began the match with a massive throw in the first period and continued to light up the scoreboard for the major decision. Miller improved to 7-2 on the season with tonight's victory.

The Cobras dropped the next two weight classes, but cut into the UNCP lead when Shurina picked up a forfeit at 165 pounds. Next, Coker kept the momentum rolling with a 9-7 decision from Catoe at the 174 pound weight class. Catoe made the crowd go wild with a first period throw that earned him the takedown and nearfall points. Vereen battled back throughout the match, but Catoe dug deep and held on for the decision.

The Cobras fell at the next two weight classes, but finished the dual meet strong with a 9-1 major decision from Correa. The Coker heavyweight dominated all phases of the match to improve to 5-0 on the season.

The Cobras will be back in action on Sunday (Dec. 2) when they travel to Newberry to compete in the Newberry Duals. Wrestling is set to begin at 8 AM.

UNC Pembroke - 24, Coker - 17

125: Nick Daggett (NCP) over John Watts (COCO) (Dec 11-5)

133: Ronnie Pietro (NCP) over Chase Clark (COCO) (TF 16-1 3:50)

141: Alex Miller (COCO) over Jonathan Miller (NCP) (MD 17-6)

149: Kaleb Warner (NCP) over Zane Corey (COCO) (MD 11-3)

157: Tyler Makosy (NCP) over Corey Christie (COCO) (Dec 2-1)

165: Bret Shurina (COCO) over (NCP) (For.)

174: Taylor Catoe (COCO) over Rashaan Vereen (NCP) (Dec 9-7)

184: Brandon Sloop (NCP) over Brandon Mills (COCO) (Fall 1:20)

197: Andrew Colborn (NCP) over Pedro Daher (COCO) (Dec 6-2)

285: Ramon Correa (COCO) over Marcus Montgomery (NCP) (MD 9-1)